

# PIT NEWS SPECIAL EDITION

Edítor: Donna Gross

HALL OF FAME CELEBRATION COLLAGE OF PICTURES

# A Few Words from the President's Desk



I hope you all enjoy seeing what you missed at our Hall of Fame Celebration, held on February 20, 2024 at the Rohan Recreation Center in this special edition of our newsletter, created by a very special person, Donna Gross, newest Glen Carter Crew Chief Award winner. Donna is my right arm, helping me keep everything straight and does an outstanding job with our newsletters, along with many, many other things for the club.

We honored our speakers from the 2023 season and also our past presidents who were not already in the Hall of Fame. It was very moving to watch a video Glen Carter, founder of our club, created as an acceptance speech. He is a wonderful guy with a never-ending love of racing and I wish you all cound know him. We will replay his

video at our upcoming anniversary meeting in October.

Speaking of meetings, our next speaker will be Kenny Troutt, an engine builder, fabricator and pit crew member with NASCAR for 25 years at the Wednseday, March 6, meeting at 7:00 pm at Colony Cottage Recreation Center. It should be a great meeting. Come and join us.

Finally, I want to thank everyone who helped create our very successful 2024 Hall of Fame Celebration. So many hands making light work for ALL. Without each of your contributions, it would not have happened.

Sincerely, Gerry G. Your Prez We enjoyed a great meal from Pasta Faire and we were entertained by the trio, "Tight Genes." We would like to thank the many club members and their spouses who helped set up and breakdown the room and table decorations.





Our Master of Ceremonies, Austin Griffis, experienced track announcer in central Florida, and Hostess and Club President Ms. Gerry Greim

And so the fun begins.....

VillagesRacingClub.com | Facebook: VillagesRacingClub

## Our 2023 Hall of Fame Inductees



Joe Gerardi

John Mulloy



Ron Hedger

Bill Samuels



Will Cagle

"Wild" Bill Stevenson

Let's congratulate them!

The three Past Presidents who were inducted at this event



Chris Bleistein



Gerry Hafer



Club Founder Glen Carter (Glen was not in attendance but a video of his acceptance speech was watched)



VillagesRacingClub.com | Facebook: VillagesRacingClub



VillagesRacingClub.com | Facebook: VillagesRacingClub

### Page 7



VillagesRacingClub.com | Facebook: VillagesRacingClub



VillagesRacingClub.com | Facebook: VillagesRacingClub





VillagesRacingClub.com | Facebook: VillagesRacingClub

2022 Crew Chief Recipient Chris Bleistein awarding the 2023 Glen Carter Crew Chief Award to Donna Gross



### **Current Inductees and Past Presidents**



L-R Gerry Hafer, Chris Bleistein, Ron Hedger, Joe Gerardi, Will Cagle, Bill Stevenson, John Mulloy and Bill Samuels Not pictured: Glen Carter



Seasoned Veterans of the Club (Oldies but Goodies)

L-R Bob Woodsford, Janine Woodsford, Gerry Greim, Gerry Hafer, Silky Meegan, Jerry Conkle, Mike Anderson, Wayne Nolan, Wendy Touchette and Tony Kennea

#### **Editor's Corner**



As a club member, I would like to take a moment to say Thank You as I accept the 2023 Glen Carter Crew Chief Award. I am humbled and appreciative. As the Newsletter Editor, I will continue to do my best to provide the members an informative and entertaining newsletter. I enjoy helping out my fellow Board of Directors in any way I can. I hope you enjoy the collage of pictures and hope this encourages more members to attend next year. Also, I would personally like to thank all the members and their spouses who helped set up and breakdown the table decorations.

#### Page 12



## Hall of Fame Inductees

Joe Gerardi-Drag Racer John Mulloy-NASCAR Crew Member Ron Hedger-Journalist Bill Samuels-Car Builder, Racer Will Cagle-Dirt Modified Racer Bill Stevenson-IL Area Stock Car Driver

#### TVMRFC Past Presidents

Chris Bleistein-Past President Gerry Hafer-Past President Glen Carter-Founder and Past President

#### Program

Opening Remarks -Ms. Gerry Greim, President Dinner - Pasta Faire Master of Ceremonies -Austin Griffis, Experienced track announcer, Central FL Awards Ceremony -Inductees -Prediction Row -Crew Chief Award Entertainment -Tight Genes 50/50 Raffle Closing Ceremony

Pictures of the inductees and award winners will be taken following the program.